Plant Potatoes


proud of you
March 24, 2010, 8:32 am
Filed under: Potatoes For Kids, Potatoes For Others, Potatoes For Self

I have realized in the last week or so how much we say, “I am so proud of you” and have heard others say things like, “What a good girl” or “You’re so big!” As I ponder these types of phrases I wonder if they truly are an adequate use of encouragement. I realize their benefit, however I see the judgment in the simple act of labeling behavior as “good” or “bad.”

Today I want to encourage our children to do what suites their life, as opposed to what suite my perception of what life is intended to be. They are closer to their true authenticity than I am! No doubt, they have some deeper awareness about things that I have seemed to forget over time! Not to say that I do not want to help guide our children toward healthy, mature responses and use of their emotions, but this was a huge discovery for me.

Potato for today: Work to share your gratitude for what your children do, rather than labeling their behavior – allow them to have their own feelings about what they have accomplished.

How do you feel about what just happened?
I am curious to hear how that makes you feel?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

