Plant Potatoes


Bring Them In

I have found that I need personal time each day – even if it’s just 5-10 minutes of quite time all to myself. I have been doing this for years. I use this time to journal, read, pray and meditate. Taking care of myself in this way helps me reflect on lessons and circumstances in my life – journaling has become the number one way to guide me to a perspective shift.

Today, my mere accident, our oldest daughter found her way into my Quiet Room about 15 minutes into my personal time. Rather than fighting it and claiming, “I need this time for myself! Please leave!” I decided to invite her into the moment. I invited her to get a book of her choice and sit in silence for a few minutes. When I got to the point where I was going to meditate, I invited her into the process. I encouraged her to sit however she chose and told her what I planned to do.

I began praying and meditating in silence, then shared with her the mantra I was repeating. “I accept myself, as I am; I accept others, at they are.” She sat with me as I repeated it out loud.

As many of you know, I have been struggling with our older daughter and how I can best be the most loving and compassionate mama with her. This moment helped me tremendously! By bringing her into this precious space, where I was at a most vulnerable place, my perspective shifted. My attitude has been more gentle – I can see that this may need to be a more regular occurrence.

Potato for today: When struggling in a relationship with a specific person in your life, bring them into your most intimate moments rather than pushing them away.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

