Plant Potatoes


Thanks Giving
November 27, 2009, 7:50 am
Filed under: Potatoes For Kids, Potatoes For Others, Potatoes For Significant Others

I cannot believe it has almost been 10 days since my last post!? I have been flying through life… barely, it seems.

I meant to write this post two days ago, but in the hustle of life, never got around to it, so here it comes a day AFTER Thanksgiving.

First let me say that I get very upset when they begin playing Christmas music and such long before Thanksgiving has come. I understand that people are free to do as they will, but I feel like Thanksgiving gets glazed over – leaving the very spirit of the season in the dust. If we took the meaning of Thanksgiving into the holiday season to follow, I believe we would have a world filled with less greed, want, and selfishness! OK, there’s my rant!

Two years ago, I wrote about saying ‘Thank You’ to your children. Breaking down the phrase to its roots – giving thanks – leaves us with a very clear mission. Thanking people is something I forget to do sometimes. With our children, it’s easier to notice all the things they are NOT doing. How can we also expand this principle?

My thought has been around thankfulness and gratitude! I think it should be Thankfulgiving! Today, I want to be more grateful in my life, rather than think of the latest thing I do NOT have, the car I WISH I DIDN’T HAVE, the clothes I think I NEED… and I am not generally a “want” type of person!

Potato for today: Bring gratitude and thankfulness into this holiday season. Remember the things you have to be thankful for.

Here are just a few of mine:
* A dedicated, hard-working husband
* Two healthy, thriving kids that are creative, loving and just plain AMAZING
* My sisters and brother that can always bring a smile to my face
*A house and a home
* Food on our table
* Running water – that we work daily to save rather than use
* A recycling, composting, Earth-saving family
* My own health
* Friends
* Bambino Brigade

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

