Plant Potatoes


It Begins With Me
November 8, 2009, 12:19 pm
Filed under: Potatoes For Kids, Potatoes For Others, Potatoes For Significant Others

toleranceI often struggle to be tolerant towards those who are intolerant. When I hear someone critically speaking of someone’s religious faith or political views, or see others treating others different because they have different skin color or cultural norms, I feel perplexed. I cannot understand intolerance because of race, nationality, spiritual beliefs, sexual orientation, partner choice, or any number of circumstances that can often divide people. I simply cannot understand. Yes, I personally used to judge people based on certain things, but even that confused me because I never understood WHY we did that. I just did what I saw.

Today, I see people who are clearly intolerant. I have personally felt it when people look or speak differently towards me when they find out I am not a Christian. But this is not the point of my post today. My point is, what do I do with intolerance? Many times, I become intolerant of those who are intolerant. So, am I any different? People are open to their opinions about things, as I am, however sometimes I make intolerance a mode of dividing us.

Potato for today: Let it begin with me – may I show tolerance towards others, even if their tolerance level is at a minimum.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

What a great point!! There was a town this week just outside of LA (so extremely multi-cultural) that was the site of a neo Nazi rally. Obviously, the neo Nazis were just trying to start a problem, and there were certainly demonstrators on the other side, but it remained peaceful the whole time. And the town said that no matter how upset everyone got, they’d still always let the neo Nazis hold their rallies. Because that’s the point of free speach – I may not agree with what you have to say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it. (who said that??? Franklin?? I can’t remember). But you see my point – just because someone gets offended – even horribly offended – doesn’t mean the offender doesn’t have every right to be a jerk. It’s our job as the nice people in the world to defend everyone’s freedoms. Let’s just hope that someday everyone really can be free (I’m thinking of my homosexual friends here). Anyway. Go you, my friend.

Comment by Liz




Leave a Reply

