Plant Potatoes


Mustard Seeds
October 23, 2009, 7:23 am
Filed under: Potatoes For Mom, Potatoes For Self

Black-mustard-seedsSometimes it takes everything in me to simply accomplish a small task. Trying a new behavior that is completely out of character for me? Sometimes impossibly difficult… but not impossible. For me, it takes just the smallest amount of willingness to get to the final result I am looking for.

I am not usually one to quote Biblical scripture, but this passage really helps me in my analogy.

Mark 4:30-32 (New International Version)
The Parable of the Mustard Seed

30Again he said, “What shall we say the kingdom of God is like, or what parable shall we use to describe it? 31It is like a mustard seed, which is the smallest seed you plant in the ground. 32Yet when planted, it grows and becomes the largest of all garden plants, with such big branches that the birds of the air can perch in its shade.”

All it takes is the smallest amount of willingness for my Higher Power to grow in me something more beautiful than I could ever imagine. Judgment is a characteristic I struggle to overcome. Recently I was encouraged to stop judging myself and walk towards the judgment to see what it is I really need. As I think about it that way, all it takes is a little willingness to begin the process.

Potato for today: Be willing. If you’re not, at least be willing to be willing. If not that, try to be willing to be willing to be willing.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

