Plant Potatoes


Attitude Adjustment

Love U Mamma!As a mom, I have constantly worked to find ways of redirecting my child when she is whining or in a scruff about something. I also want to teach her the difference between needs versus wants. These two may seem unrelated, but really it’s about a change of attitude.

A week or so ago, I asked our oldest what she was grateful for in the midst of a melt down. She wasn’t to eager to participate in my rampage right away, but as I started to mention some of the toys around her, our house, and (especially) her baby sister, she was hooked. She finally said, “I am only grateful for [my sister].” Her fit was gone and she was in a pleasant place ready to play again.

When I have a more positive attitude and embrace my gratitude, my life is more serene.

Potato for the day: Embrace an attitude of gratitude and pass that on to your children.

As I teach my child how to be grateful in any situation, even if it’s for only one thing, she will bring that into her life. Maybe one day, when I’m in a rough spot she will say to me, as I did her, “Mom, let’s have an attitude of gratitude.”

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I think this is a wonderful idea and I’m going to try it ASAP! My little boy has fits in the morning. They are usually brought on by brushing his teeth.

Comment by Mary Templeton




Leave a Reply

