Plant Potatoes


Tell Your Story

treeStory telling has been a part of many ancient cultures, as well as ours today. We learn from those who have gone before us and have the opportunity to teach those in our lives today more about who we are. The oral tradition supports itself in each societies language. Our words are critical to the development of those little lives we touch each day, too. We know how important it is to choose our words wisely, especially when little ears are around, but what else do our words teach our children?

I want my children to know that positive stories of my past (although it is so easy to want to warn them about certain things that weren’t so positive). Like how I used to walk in the creek for well over a mile, pretending I was on an expedition. Or how I sat in the nestled corner of my room on my tiny apple computer pretending I was a business woman. Or how I loved to write poetry, even at a young age. As they get older, I can share that my first real kiss from a boy was in Italy and how terrified I was. Or how their grandparents taught me how to drive.

When we tell stories about our lives (and the live of those in our family that have gone before us), our children get a sense of where they came from and where they can go. I hope they always feel like they can go anywhere… because that’s what I believe they can do.

Potato of the day: Tell your story, that others may be inspired to live their own.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

