Plant Potatoes


Create A Community
October 1, 2009, 7:05 am
Filed under: Potatoes For Mom, Potatoes For Self

Lake

I am one that believes if you do not have what you need, go out and get it, make it, or ask for it. In one instance, I had no idea how far it would go.

After our youngest was born, I struggled with postpartum depression. I knew that’s what it was, but really felt like I had no idea what to do with it. I did not want to take pharmaceuticals and I wasn’t sure which herbs, homeopathics, or other natural remedies were safe while nursing. I felt at a loss. I reached out to some friends that I knew were struggling, consulted experts in the field, researched online, and then started trying things. I thought balancing the hormones was all I needed, but soon realized it was more.

When our oldest started preschool, I knew I would have more free time and I wanted to use the majority of that time to exercise, as I KNEW that was a huge part of my need. About seven weeks ago, I invited some friends from my Hypnobabies birthing class to go hiking. We had two or three come. It was great.

We then decided to start walking on a weekly basis… and here we are, weeks later, and we are still going strong. I now have a list of ten or so moms with new babies (and some with older ones) that I could call any day and discuss newborns, nursing, sleep, and just about anything else that I need. I have a community now.The support is great; the time together is amazing. I have received far more than I ever thought possible by just reaching out and sending in invite to some people I knew, that have now become my friends.

Potato of the day: If you need a community, create one.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I’m so glad for the community too! Even though this was my first week walking with you guys, I got such a wonderful sense of belonging with all the mommies there that I plan on making this a regular part of my week. Can’t wait for next time! 🙂

Comment by Liz




Leave a Reply

