Plant Potatoes


Learning
September 29, 2009, 6:50 am
Filed under: Potatoes For Kids

shout

How many times I have reacted to my child and immediately felt, “Why did I do that? If I had only…”? The times are too many to count, and today I am learning that I do not have to go there. Really, my main issue is that I am consistently gentle and loving for the first few times (sometimes 10 or more), then I just snap and lose all my composure. What I want to do, instead, is slow down and think of a more creative approach, rather than just losing it!

Yesterday, we were trying to get our three year old to come inside. She was wound up (but exhausted – having been up late the night before and without naps in our house, night-sleep is critical). The first six times she wholeheartedly refused with a wrinkled forehead. I finally said, “Get in here and go to your room,” with a slight pat on her fanny. It wasn’t a gentle tone. It wasn’t the response I wanted to have. I was angry and frustrated. As I look back this morning, I realize some more creative options I could have tried.

I could have made it a game or created a reason she would want to come inside. I try not to play the “Coulda, Woulda, Shoulda” game with myself. It only leaves me feeling like a horrible person. I’m not going to beat up on myself this morning. I am, however, going to work to make a mental note to try something different next time.

Potato for today: Learn from your mistakes and be gentle with yourself – we’re only human.

I read something today: “God made me a perfect human being, not a perfect God.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

