Plant Potatoes


All We Need is Patience
September 24, 2009, 7:04 am
Filed under: Potatoes For Kids, Potatoes For Others, Potatoes For Significant Others

stones

I am not usually one that possesses the quality of patience. I can be rather impulsive, make decisions without thinking, and end up in a position where I feel like I should have waited. My husband, on the other hand, is very methodical about decisions and takes his time with most things. Some may call it procrastination, but really he just slows down. I am grateful because in the eight years we have been together, he has taught me a great deal about slowing down. He definitely prepared me for children in this area.

I realized a few years ago that the pace of children learning things (for example, how to walk) is just perfect for their growth. I may think they need to “pick up the pace,” but they are right on time. I have had some wonderful lessons in patience as a mother and wife. Just because I think enough time has passed for a problem to be solved or an action to be taken doesn’t mean others feel the same. When I slow down I have to sit with my feelings and sometimes that is rather uncomfortable. There’s always a lesson in sitting in that space and waiting.

Today I seek to slow down, hear all voices involved, wait for the guidance from a Higher Power, and just be patient for the answers we may need.

Potato for the day: Slow down; be patient for answers that may come from outside your own thought processes.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

