Plant Potatoes


R-E-S-P-E-C-T
September 21, 2009, 7:48 am
Filed under: Potatoes For Kids, Potatoes For Significant Others

respect Lately, I have been thinking a great deal about respect and what it means to respect myself and others. Raising children, I want to know that I am teaching them about self-respect and how to respect others. As I was driving down the street a few weeks back, I saw a “Road Closed” sign that had graffiti all over it. Growing up I never thought too much about graffiti, but as I saw it this time it helped me to see a part of our society that is strongly lacking.

The best way I can teach my children about respect is to respect myself and them. Respect really breaks down into two simple models: respect of self and respect of others and their time, space and property. What does that look like for me? I respect my body by taking care of it. I exercise, try to eat healthy, and get proper sleep (as much as a I can these days). Respect for others means I respect their right to be themselves, as long as it does not infringe on my right to be myself. I respect people’s right to choose how they want to live their life. I respect the property of others; I do not damage or take someone’s things. I try not to impose my will on anyone else. I respect the time of others as just as precious as my time and seek to not waste theirs, as I do not want to waste mine.

Potato for today: Respect yourself and others… R-E-S-P-E-C-T, find out what it means to you.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] I want my children to learn how to be good friends to others and I teach them that by encouraging respect of others. I think it starts there. I can call someone that I know has been having a hard time. I […]

Pingback by Be a Friend « Plant Potatoes




Leave a Reply

