Plant Potatoes


Making The Choice
September 14, 2009, 12:33 pm
Filed under: Potatoes For Mom, Potatoes For Self

1203_Kosher_SaltNight before last, as it seemed nothing I had planned the entire day was going according to my plan, I made a realization. Just as the Morton’s Coarse Kosher Salt seemed to fall from the cabinet ever so slowly and land in the bowl of left-over pasta I was dishing out, sending it all over the counter (that was laced with undone dishes, compost scraps, and children’s toys), I realized that I had a choice to let all these things compound and cause me to loose it. I realized that if I took each instance in stride, and simply remedied one occurrence at a time with dignity and grace, I would be in a much better place.

This was a cross road for me, as in the past I would have let all the “things” that happened in the day compound, giving me a great excuse to be, well, a b@#$%. And who doesn’t love a great excuse for that?! This was growth for me. Playing the martyr role can often be a place I go. “Look at all I do… and look how tough it can be.” This is something I want to change.

With each new awareness comes a greater sense of self-acceptance. The more I accept how I feel about any given circumstance or how I used to react, the more I learn about myself and the better wife, mom, sister, daughter,…. I can be. I am constantly growing and can choose to use life’s challenges, no matter how small, as opportunities – or not.

Potato for the day… Make the choice to learn more about yourself today and make a change for the better when a new awareness arises.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

